We ALL matter.

Hello friends. It’s been so long that I don’t know where to begin.  Life has been incredible and I’ve had so many opportunities to love, learn, and live. Not a bad way to spend the days, in my opinion.

Lately I’ve been experiencing an overwhelming sense of Gratitude. If you know me, you might think this is nothing new. But the feeling seems to be amplified these days. Nothing huge has happened recently in my life, but the amplification seems to be arising from an acute awareness of life’s little gifts, and on the other hand, some of life’s challenges. Nothing directly related to me, but opportunities to be thankful nonetheless.

Yesterday was filled with emotion. I began my day with a yoga class on the beach for one of my dear friends who was getting married and wanted to start her day off right. What a brilliant way to begin your wedding day! I led a class for her and four other wonderful yoginis on Moonlight Beach in Encinitas. The sun was just peaking out so it wasn’t too hot and definitely not too cold. It was just right. The waves were crashing behind me and we had our little yoga spot in the sand all to ourselves. It was perfect. My message for the class was for her to enjoy every single moment of the day because once the wedding madness happens, it goes by so fast. Take each moment and savor it before it passes. I told her that everyone says your wedding day is supposed to be the best day of your life, but in my experience, it just keeps getting better and better from that day forward…

After the class, I came home and K and I walked down to the beach in front of our house where Junior Seau’s house is. There was a paddle out and a memorial on the Strand. Hundreds of surfers and an outrigger canoe were out at the break in front of his house. Hundreds of others were on the beach and on the Strand paying their respects and viewing the memorial. It was a beautiful gathering of supporters, many wearing #55 jerseys in his honor. Let me first say that I didn’t know Junior Seau, but we did meet him backstage at a Pepper show, where he humbly told the band how proud he was of them. He was such a kind man from my brief experience. But what really made me emotional was a news piece that quoted him recently as saying something like, ‘I’m not anybody anymore’. And yesterday on the Strand, I witnessed two women (maybe family members or friends) hugging and crying, and one said:

“He thought he didn’t matter anymore, and I hope he can see now how much he matters to so many people.”

I don’t think I will soon forget that moment. It’s a lesson for all of us. We ALL Matter. Even if sometimes we might feel alone, or insignificant. We all matter to someone, probably to more than we realize. And most importantly, we need to matter to ourselves. We need to treat ourselves with the respect and the love that we reserve for the people we care about the most in life. It has to start within.

Let’s take it a little further. We never know what someone else is going through at any given moment. A kind word, a smile, a helping hand, a hug. All of these small acts of kindness can have such a huge impact on someone. You never know how you can affect someone’s life in a big or small way, and kindness and letting someone know that they matter, might be just what they need at that moment.

Yesterday was just one day out of many that I was humbled by gratitude for everything in my life. I don’t want to take anything, or anyone, for granted. I want to show my loved ones, my friends, and others that they are all beautiful, important beings. I want to take the time to appreciate everything from the time I spend with my love, to the birds that wake us up in the morning, the friendships that make me smile, to the food I have to eat. Everything can be honored as a gift, even challenges we face that give us opportunities to grow and learn. Life is good.

~Peace
Melanie 

Currently…
Listening to: Sara Tavares – Balance
Watching: Dual Survivor (K’s favorite show right now…)
Eating: Homemade hummus (recipe below)
Loving: LIFE
Grateful for: Slow mornings with my love.

Cilantro Hummus
1 can of organic garbanzo beans (or 2 cups of soaked, boiled, dry chickpeas)
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
2 tablespoons of Olive Oil (or to taste)
2 tablespoon of fresh lime juice
a handful of cilantro, chopped
sea salt to taste

Put all in a food processor and blend. I prefer to leave it chunky, so start slow and taste as you blend to desired consistency. I put this on some pita with roasted red peppers and baby spinach leaves then topped with other half of the pita. Cook for about 10 minutes (or until lightly crispy) at 350. It’s like a vegan quesadilla! Kind of. Much better, in my opinion. 😉

10 thoughts on “We ALL matter.

  1. “We ALL Matter. Even if sometimes we might feel alone, or insignificant.” Just what I needed to read. Your words put a smile on my face and I am thankful for coming across your blog. Love loove your positive vibes I hope one day I can feel the same way about life.

    • I’m so happy to hear that this post resonated with you, Cin. It’s very true. We all matter…
      Thank you for your comment. I hope you have a positively wonderful rest of your week.

  2. It’s your posts like this that brighten my days. You are an amazing writer and always so positive. You truly are inspiring. Thank you for the rays of sunshine you spread to everyone you contact.
    Because of this sunshine you bring, I thought you deserve an award for it; The Sunshine Award.
    http://jeangreyphoenix.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/and-the-award-goes-to/
    It’s only a trifle to say how much you’re appreciated, but it doesn’t take away from how awesome you are and just how much you give to others.
    Thank you for being you. 🙂

    • Hey girl, thank you!! How cool is that?! I love Sunshine! 🙂
      So I checked out the award at your blog and I’m going to do it tonight. However, maybe I’m super lame (or super indecisive), but those questions are far too vague for me to narrow down my answer! Eek! Can I get new questions, or is that against the rules? I noticed you made your own award logo (awesome, by the way), so maybe some new q’s are okay? Just thought I’s try…
      Thanks again, off to teach yoga, be back soon to work on the blog. xo

      • Haha! Yeah, I hear ya on that. Of course you can have new questions; rules are meant to be broken. Try these out…. perhaps they’ll work for you a bit better….
        What one ‘need’ and one ‘want’ will you strive to achieve in the next twelve months?
        What three words would you use to describe the last three months of your life?
        What makes you weird/interesting/different?
        If you could do it all over again, would you change anything?
        What small act of kindness were you once shown that you will never forget?
        If you were forced to eliminate every physical possession from your life with the exception of what could fit into a single backpack, what would you put in it?
        What have you read online recently that inspired you?
        If you could take a single photograph of your life, what would it look like?
        What are you most grateful for?
        What is the simplest truth you can express in words?

        Have fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

