“Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” –Christopher Robin to Pooh

Hi friends,

It’s about to get all kinds of real up in here.
So as you know, I am a yoga teacher. The teachings of yoga are so accepting and beautiful, and offer up the idea that we all are already perfect, whole, complete, and inherently good. This is what I teach my students, and what I truly and whole-heartedly believe. It teaches us to be accepting of ourselves and to see our so-called  “flaws” with loving eyes and humor. Sounds amazing, right? It is… But when does acceptance become complacency?
What I am trying to say is, When on Earth did I gain these 7 pounds??  I mean, I feel happier than I have ever been, I do yoga everyday, I eat extremely healthy and always organic food… But I have come to realize that even though I accept myself exactly as I am (which hasn’t always been the case), it doesn’t mean that I don’t think I could be, well, better.
So of course my yogic mind is telling me: Hey, whatever! So you gained a few pounds. You need to love yourself no matter what, even though you don’t want to wear that little dress right now. Just put your yoga pants back on.
But my realistic, girly, vain mind is saying: Oh, hold up! We need to talk. Are you really ok that your favorite jeans are snug? Reeaally??!

And so it is. (I told you I was getting real.)

Good news is, I am having SO much fun with my new daily routine of at least one yoga class, a five-mile walk (on the beach while listening to the best playlists ever!), and my ballet warm-ups infused with more core and butt a la Tracy Anderson’s mojo. It’s just a lifestyle change and something I look forward to everyday. I get so caught up with my work and studies, that the change is delightfully welcome. And of course a lifestyle change wouldn’t be complete without some favorite food!

Besides juicing lots and lots of yummy organic fruits and veggies daily, I have two favorite meal/snacks that I am absolutely loving right now. The first one was ‘invented’ by my hubby. It’s a Wasa cracker (I prefer the MultiGrain or Hearty) with a light spread of organic almond butter and blueberries on top. To die for.
 

My next fave was created out of wanting a meal and a sweet ending, but not wanting a lot of both so that I was too full. And it had to be healthy and light and full of protein. Start with an Ezekiel sprouted grain tortilla, heated. Cut it in half and on one side, spread hummus (I’m loving red pepper humus), cucumber, spinach, tomato, avocado, shredded carrot and a quirt of Braggs aminos. The other side gets that yummy almond butter and either blueberries, banana slices, or both. Roll them each up like wraps and just try to tell me you aren’t totally satisfied and impressed with yourself. 🙂

So anyway, I have successfully lost a few pounds, but it isn’t about that. It’s about how I am feeling, and I feel great.
On to other things…

My Santa Barbara Yoga Retreat is coming up here very quickly, and I am really excited. I have 18 yogis signed up so far; most of them are my students, a couple others I have yet to meet.  We will be taking the train up to the White Lotus for the weekend, and by the time we come home it’s almost time for Kaleo’s return. How perfect is that timing?? Yoga retreats are such an incredible gift to yourself. There is much time for reflection and re-connecting with you. It’s also a very valuable experience being with others in an atmosphere that is supportive of personal growth and exploration. One such tool is by practicing silence in the mornings. Wow. If you haven’t ever tried it, I highly recommend it. It’s one thing to be silent with just one other person (still really hard!), but to be on retreat and sharing a meal with 17 other people who are all practicing silence is a very powerful thing. I think as humans we need to be able to be comfortable being by ourselves. Even being alone while in the presence of others. It’s a pretty cool experience to be able to go within and really enjoy your own company. It isn’t a narcissistic practice, it’s just simple self-awareness. Once you are able to be with yourself, it is much easier to be in a healthy relationship with another person. On the retreat we only practice silence in the mornings until after breakfast, so it’s not all rigid. We will be hiking, doing lots of yoga and creative writing, lounging by the pools and hot tub, eating gourmet vegetarian foods with wine and chocolate… Oh yes. It is going to be awesome. And I am planning on holding this one every summer, so think about next year… 😉

Well my friends, thanks for going there with me. I know this post wasn’t a funny, entertaining one. But if just one person can relate, then it’s all good.

I will leave you with song I seem to keep coming back to. Love love love Swedish House Mafia, and if you ever get the chance to experience one of my favorite DJ’s, Tiesto , mixing this… do yourself a favor and go.

Have a great weekend!

Peace,
M

2 thoughts on ““Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” –Christopher Robin to Pooh

  1. Well, well….have you hit a nerve on me or what!?! =) Heehee!! Funny I was thinking about the whole 7 lb. thing the other day; but for me it’s more like 10. Same difference, right? But, wow, it was like you read my mind! Although I am happy with myself right now (as weight has NOT gotten totally out of control), but there is always room for improvement. Setting goals and reaching them sets you up for more happiness in life for sure!!

    And I must have the exact same jeans as you do; you know, the ones that are my favorite but are a bit snug at the moment? Congrats on your loss (which in reality is a gain!! =D ) I’m about to get my ass up now and go to the gym first thing!

    And those yummy snacks sound so DELICIOUS!!! Ima have to try some of that grindage……

    I wish I had the means to join your yoga group. My sister has been wanting to get me into her class here….. But I, for certain!, have to check you out in OS, once I get the MEANS (if ya still want to email me I’ll be happy to share).

    One more thing, you are absolutely correct about being able to fully share and be productive in a relationship, once you are happy with you, yourself, alone…….That’s REAL smack, right there!!!

    Thank you so much for your positivity! You have just said alot of things I myself have been thinking………. only it helps to have a secondhand opinion, right?! =) Didn’t even need to ask either, it just came to me through you…… Lots of Love, Smiles, and Happy Thoughts!!

    P.S. Thanks for the groovin’ tune…… 😉

    • Hi Jamie! I think we all have these feelings every now and then. If it isn’t a few pounds, it’s something else. But once we make the decision to do something about it, we get so inspired, and have a lot of fun learning about ourselves in the process. 🙂

Leave a Reply

