“Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.” ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

{ Martin Luther King, Jr. }

Hi Friends,

Today is a great day to celebrate Peace. As you know, I usually have a lot to say when it comes to injustice and civil rights, especially in the wake of recent events. Today however, I am going to take Martin Luther King’s lead and come from a place of Peace. He was one of the world’s best known advocates of non-violent social change strategies, and so for today I am stepping down from my soap-box in honor of his efforts. Here are some facts about MLK:

  • Won Nobel Peace Prize on December 10, 1964.
  • Was stabbed in 1958 while promoting his book, “Stride Toward Freedom”.
  • Earned Ph.D. in systematic theology in 1955.
  • Graduated from Morehouse College in Atlanta, GA, in 1948.
  • Birth name: Michael Luther King Jr.
  • Is the only U.S. citizen to have a national holiday dedicated to him.
  • Time Magazine’s “Man of the Year” (1963)
  • Subject of the U2 song “Pride (In the Name of Love)” from their 1984 album “The Unforgettable Fire”.
  • He stated that he would not live to be 40. He died aged 39.
  • Among his personal, non-violent reform heroes was Mahatma Gandhi (1869-1948).
  • Was a vegetarian.
  • Publicly spoke out against the Vietnam War in 1967.

Join me today by doing something kind for someone, or make every effort to come from a place of respect and kindness when interacting with others.

Enjoy this beautiful day!

~Melanie

6 thoughts on ““Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.” ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

  1. Pingback: “I have decided to stick to love. Hate is too great a burden to bear. ” ~ Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. « Living Aloha…

  2. Hi Melanie! I love reading your blog so let me join the others in asking you to please post more haha. Are you going to OMBAC fest on Saturday? Hope to see you there if you are 🙂

  3. Hi Melanie! I love reading your blog so let me join the others in asking you to please post more haha. Are you going to OMBAC fest on Saturday? Hope to see you there if you are!

    • Hi Amanda! Yes I was there yesterday! It was really fun. Did you go? THanks for the blog love. Now that Kaleo is officially on tour for a couple of weeks, I will have more time to revisit my blog. 🙂

      • Yaaay!! Looking forward to that. Yeah I went and I have a vicious sunburn to prove it lol. Pretty sure I was the palest person there haha. Pepper was amazing as usual. We had so much fun! Did you see the beer lines? I think we spent more time there than in front of the stage. We met some cool people there though. Please pass my love and thanks on to the pepper possy for being so talented and for brightening up my day! (I got a speeding ticket on the way there so i was really freaking out at the time. Isn’t it crazy that good music can change your mood so easily?) Mucho love from long beach!

Leave a Reply

