Have a great weekend…

Good morning!

Just a quick one today as I run out the door to a weekend yoga retreat. I just want to say thank you to all of my readers who have shown such incredible love and kind words through comments and email. I get emails daily from people who thank me for brightening their day, or who have relationship questions, or who just want to know something about a certain yoga pose. SOme people I know, others I haven’t met yet, but your positivity is so heartwarming.

And then there are the others. For those of you who aren’t familiar with WordPress blogs, I can see what people are searching for that brought them to my blog. And let me tell you, some of them are like Whoa. Of course you get the usual ‘Is Kaleo Wassman Married’, that’s to be expected. Then I will see ‘photos of Kaleo Wassman and wife’, the norm. More recently, ‘What nicknames do Kaleo and Melanie call each other at home’…. odd but ok. Or this one, ‘Kaleo Wassman’s favorite food’. Now if you’re thinking about baking us some yummy cookies and bringing them to a show, it’s all good. Otherwise? A little creepy. Last night after an amazing day of yoga and an entrepreneurial seminar, I came home to a comment from none other than “Anonymous” (of course, right?)

“WOw. You’re not that hot at all. I’m so much prettier. I bet Kaleo cheats on you. I’m cumming to see Peeper at SD.”

First of all Anonymous, the band is called Pepper, not Peeper. And second, in no way am I going to defend my beautiful marriage to someone with bad grammar, bad manners, and just.. EW. This blog is intended to inspire, entertain and uplift. It’s all about the positivity, babe.

Anyway, to the 99.9% of my lovely, amazing readers, thank you. Thank you for sharing your beautiful hearts with me. We Win! πŸ˜‰

I’m headed to the mountains to meditate with the budhhist monks.

Peace in, Peace out.

Melanie

Currently listening to:

53 thoughts on “Have a great weekend…

  1. I love Peeper too! And I’m cumming to SD too!! But i think you are breathtakingly beautiful and absolutely gorgeous inside and especially outside. Hot Hot Hotness at its finest and that hubby of yours is one licky guy. Oops..i meant lucky..or did i? hahahahahahahaahahah Love you Mel.

  2. Oh Mel !! I literally gasped out loud over that comment. But when one is as honest with others, truly authentic, radiating positivity, and putting themselves out there for all to see, it is not uncommon (as you have experienced ) to have those filled with negativity make disgusting remarks….it’s because thier dirty little souls can’t handle all the fantastic , beautiful comments, ideas, and vibes your sending out… I’m so happy to read your blog, you brighten my day πŸ™‚ I’m so glad that you are able to handle all ugliness with such grace and beauty, again I stand in awe :0 I hope you enjoy your weekend

    • Hi Danielle!
      Ugh, my skin is so tough it doesn’t permeate anymore. Or is the saying, my feathers are too slick and it rolls off my back?? Whatever. My point is, I’m human and it may sting for a second, but soon it’s totally forgotten. It’s always so nice seeing you in yoga! But I would really love to see you guys outside of the studio someday. Kaleo is home now so let’s make plans! xoxo

  3. Hii, Just looked for yoga blogs and yours came up. I noticed the band Pepper too.. I just to listen to that band all the time a few years ago in my punk days. If that is the same one… The ska type of band that did Tounges, Give It Up, No Control etc etc. Love it. Betty x

  4. My beautiful Melanie, I can’t imagine why someone would say such a thing to someone as wonderful as you. You’re not only beautiful on the outside but more importantly on the inside. You inspire and you make this world a better place.

    Love you so much. XOXO

    • Oh Evelyn you are so sweet. Thank you for your kind words. It’s no big deal, people hide behind the veil of anonymity to say things like that all the time. True happy people make others feel good in their presence and try to make a difference in someone’s life in a positive way. YOU are like that. I got your text by the way, and will put your new number in my phone today. πŸ™‚

  5. Wow. I’m at a loss for words for both the ridiculous comment(who does that!?) but more importantly about the mountain meditation session(awesome). I do not know you but you are a very talented writer. I must say that I have literally smiled and/or laughed when reading some of your blogs. Very entertaining and truly inspiring.

    • Hey, thank you Gen! I greatly appreciate your kind words… The mountain was fantastic! Lots of silence, meditation in the Zen tradition (mixed with my own, made-up style that works for me), yoga, vegetarian food, nature, and wonderful people. A few of the girls who work at my studio came too, so there was a lot of bonding. All around delightful experience! I returned so.. clear and serene.

  6. I came across your blog, as I’m sure many have, from my love of Pepper. But as I read your stories I have found that I am inspired by you. I can somewhat relate to someone who seems a world away from myself. I had the pleasure of “meeting” (more like infringing) on you & Kaleo in Solano Beach & you 2 were absolutely the most nicest human beings my husband & I have ever met.

    Thank you for seeing that Kaleo’s fans are not vile, despicable human beings & that you do not allow the few rotten shiteous people to be indicative of the majority.

    Sure I think your husband is hotter than shit & plays music that seem as if they are speaking directly to me. But I find his music even more endearing when I realize through your blog some of those songs are his songs to you. (Crazy Love / Natty Dread blog) And it’s like finding out what happens after the “Happily Ever After” in a story.

    I hope one day you consider writing a book. A book filled with short stories & quirks of life. Short stories of the good & inspitrational (as reflected in your blog) & from parts of your life which I’m sure you would like to forget & have gone through leap & bounds to overcome. Your writing is eloquent & lovely. Thank you for sharing, writing this blog & letting us in.

    • Hi Patricia! Did we meet you and your husband at the restaurant next to Belly Up a couple years back? Blue Note, or Wild Note..? Anyway, thank you for such a cool comment! I have met such wonderful people through the band, and in no way do I think that his fans are bad people. I love meeting new people and making friends, and honestly no one has ever come up to me and said anything awful or rude. Well maybe once or twice, but usually they are so drunk that they probably don’t even remember, so it really doesn’t count. πŸ˜‰
      Thank you again for your kind words. It’s people like you who inspire me to keep writing. Make sure you say hi if you come to an SD show!

      • Embarassingly yes that’s where we meet. And just the thought of how flustered I was meeting your husband makes me ill. You 2 really couldn’t have been any nicer or normal which I think pushed my goofy school girl inner being out to full maximum. (CRINGE!!!) Anyways love the blog!

      • I totally remember you guys! You were both very polite and really happy people. Nothing to be embarrassed about at all. I love what you say in your About Me portion of your blog, by the way. Good stuff!

  7. I’m not going to lie, back when I first started listening to Pepper I did a couple of “Kaleo” searches and stumbled upon your blog, but my reaction was more like “wow she’s super pretty….bummer” hahaha

    But you’re blog is one of my favorites! It actually inspired me to make my blog, and start taking yoga classes to bring some more calm into my “panic”-er personality. Don’t let those losers bother you!

    Court*

  8. Hello from Texas πŸ™‚ My family and I are Pepper fans, which brought me to your blog. That being said I have to say I always wondered if you got any nasty comments from crazy mean girls and I got my answer. Keep positive, I have nothing but pity for people that are so unhappy they try and drag others down with them.

    • Hi Andrea!
      For the most part everyone is delightful. There are always a few nasty ones, but that’s to be expected from the internet I suppose. Thanks for your positivity! We can all learn how NOT to be from the others. πŸ™‚
      M

  9. oh wow… that’s outrageous, I will admit I have been a huge pepper fan for a long time, but your blog is legitimately interesting and one of the few blogs I read rather regularly. Being a fan, i have seen these “anonymous” fans/ girls all over the shows and they are honestly just a little pathetic… Love your blog keep sending out the beautiful vibes.

    • Thank you! I am going to be updating my Blogroll soon with some really great blogs that I follow, so check back. There are some fun ones out there.
      So Yeah, I see all kinds at the shows. But mostly people are just out to have fun and cut loose. I’ve met so many wonderful people, that totally outnumber the crazies. Crazies need love too, just not from my husband. Ha! πŸ˜‰

  10. yes exactly!! some people just don’t have any respect for the music, or the people behind it. Oh and i saw you at west beach 09 and this person obviously has never seen you in person, because you seem beautiful on the inside and out definitely!

      • West Beach!!! I love Lucy foot juice wine and gluten free chocolate cupcakes ! Jager Barbie shots and the giant penis on stage. Oh boy. And remember Garrett taking my toe nail polish off with those horrible ineffective wipee things while we were sitting on that little patio? That was a very good day. To sum it all up in the words of Kimcess passing out in the back seat on the way home from West Beach “Today was one the greatest days of my entire life.” See u tomorrow love-eee…and if you will be the president I will be the vp of the official peeper fan club. Lets get one of those old school photo button makers and make homemade Peeper Fan Club buttons!!

      • Oh. My. God. How much do I love you right now???? Yes mami, see you tomorrow. I will have to get a press pass for the filming, so let me know what time you will be there. Whitney and I are taking the train up at noon-ish. muah!

  11. I, like many others, came across your blog when browsing the net for info on my favorite band Peeper…I mean, Pepper. πŸ˜‰ And I am so grateful to have stumbled upon your blog. I find it incredibly inspiring, uplifting and sometimes simply good for a much needed laugh/smile to start the day. I think your absolutely beautiful on the outside, but more importantly on the inside. I love your positive outlook in most every situation. Thank you for the inspiration, the laughter and the reminder to always believe in oneself and one’s dreams.

    Keep brushing off those “anonymous” types…for every one of them, there are a ton more of us that admire and appreciate you!

    Keep writing, keep inspiring, keep living the dream.

    Best,
    Mel

    P.S. Looking forward to seeing the show in SD this weekend…they always know how to rock it out!

    • Hi Melanie! It was so wonderful to meet all three of you, and I’m really glad that we had the opportunity to chat for a bit. Thank you so much for the sweet words and the encouragement to keep blogging. Somedays it feels like I’m just opening myself up to criticism by the Anonymous Negative Nancys, but meeting you girls made it feel all worthwhile. It is all about the love and positivity! Hope you all got home safe, and had a fabulous time. See you again at a ‘Peeper’ show!

      • Melanie, you are so awesome! Thank you so much for taking the time to chat with us at the Stingaree. It was so great to meet you guys after being such a longtime fan of Pepper and follower of your blog. I think you’ve inspired me to start a blog of my own! It is kinda scary thinking about opening yourself up to criticism that may be out there, but can’t let stuff like that stop us, right? πŸ™‚

        We did have an absolutely amazing time at the show and really enjoyed meeting you and Kaleo. Totally made our road trip more than worth it! We enjoyed the rest of the weekend and made it home safe and sound.

        Hope you guys had a fantastic Thanksgiving! Have a great trip back home to Hawaii and enjoy the holidays! And yes, looking forward to seeing you again at another show!

        ~Mel

  12. I’m really sorry you had to deal with that! I know for me it can be hard to keep other people’s negative thoughts and opinions from creeping in and making me feel negative! I’m working on not letting others get me down and sort of poison my spirit. My boyfriend is going to school across the country, and I’m here in our home of So Cal. It is such a change going from living together to going months without seeing each other. I hate those moments of doubt and insecurity that happen, especially when you have other people assuming that your relationship is going to fail!

    I just wanted to thank you for the inspiration that your blog has provided. I’m a huge Pepper fan, and my sisters and I used to joke about how the guys could be married with girls always throwing themselves at them, but once I was turned onto your blog I instantly saw the love you guys have! It helps me keep the faith that when you find that one person who is your other half and your best friend, you can truly make it no matter what. Thanks for helping me stay positive and a reminder to keep the negative people from having an impact on you!

    • Hi Layla,
      I totally agree, it is difficult when others assume failure, and when you get questions like, How can you trust him, what about the groupies? It used to bother me because I was frustrated that they didn’t understand our love. But then I just let it go, and now I don’t even care if others question us. Because it isn’t about them, right? No one knows who you each are behind closed doors, and what your relationship dynamic truly is. So try to let it go (I know it’s easier said) and you will find a sense of ease and peace. Those moments of doubt will pass if you let them. Anything can work if you believe in it and put in the effort to make it work. And honest communication is the most important part. I cannot stress that enough. Thanks for reading and for the kind words… πŸ™‚

      • Thank you for the kind response and advice!You are so right about being honest and open. And on the positive side, the distance really does make you more grateful for the times you are together and you fully appreciate those moments that before I took for granted.

        And I LOVED your crow post…animals never cease to amaze me. Thanks again and Happy Holidays!

  13. I have to admit, I came across your blog because of pepper, but I really enjoy reading your posts! You are such a beautiful writer, and such an inspiring person! In life there are always negative people that feed off of bringing others down, people like “anonymous” , but it takes a greatly optimistic person to brush it off and laugh. Go you πŸ™‚ !

  14. Hi Melanie! I don’t think you remember me but I’m a HUGE Pepper fan and i have thee biggest crush on Kaleo…. Ive met him 2 times one time in santa barbara and also at the Pavillion Theater…. and you were with him when this happened and i think you are BEAUTIFUL!!… I don’t know how i came across you blog a while ago ( ok i do i was kinda stalking kaleo) hahaa jk jk…. but you seem just as Beautiful on the inside…. Air headed girls always seem to think Good looks is what keeps a guy faithful or to stay in a relationship and i feel very sorry for that ANONYMOUS person! and her sad comment ( and i bet she’s butt ugly anyways)….

    Have a great day! πŸ™‚

  15. Oh man that’s disgusting, and completely against the spirit of pepper. I’ve been a fan since i was 14, am 22 now. I still think you are one of the most beautiful couples out there and truly an inspiration. My cousin once told me that wasting time on hater is point because a haters purpose will always be to hate. on another slightly unrelated note. how was the meditation with monks?? that sounds so amazing? it is my dream to take place in a Buddhist mediation retreat!!

    • The meditation was so serene, Jenny. I highly recommend it. They are all love and compassion, so inspiring. We did yoga, ate delicious vegetarian meals cooked with love by the monks, and observed silence in the morning hours… Delightful. Thanks for your comment, I have to agree with your cousin on the haters! πŸ™‚

  16. Hi Melanie!
    I just want to start off by saying thank you so much for being you. I stumbled across your blog, like most others, while searching for your husbands band. Pepper has been my favorite band forever, and I cant remember how many times i have seen them live. They are the what helps me make it through my bad days, like today. I could not have come across your blog at a more perfect time in my life. Your grateful, uplifting, and positive outlook on life is a true inspiration to a 22 year old New England girl who has big dreams that seem next to impossible right now. You live your life beautifully. I cant imagine waking up feeling so blessed every morning. Because of your stories and experiences I know that good things DO happen to good people. Your words have inspired me to be the best version of myself. So, keep writing, live irie, and keep rocking on!
    -jxo

    • Hi there,
      Nothing is impossible! We just need to work through the obstacles we put in our own way by changing perspective and taking action… You are SO right, good things happen to good people. Thank you for your sweet comment. You sound very positive. It’s a new year in a couple of days, perfect time to put the life you want in motion. πŸ™‚

  17. I totally dig you, your a lucky gal keep up the good work lovely… Oh and screw that broad for talking bad about yoy, your a better person anyways πŸ˜‰

  18. I totally dig you, your a lucky gal keep up the good work lovely… Oh and screw that broad for talking bad about you, your a better person for not
    letting it bother you anyways πŸ˜‰ plus your super gorgeous inside aswell as the outside ❀

    • Hey thanks Jess! Yeah, I try to ignore negative ones, but I’m human and not totally impermeable, so you know… But we focus on the good and reflect the positivity, right? πŸ˜‰

  19. Oh Melanie, I know this happened a while ago but I cannot believe what I read above. Let me just tell you a little story…the first time I saw you coming out of a yoga class at Yoga Oceanside, I was stunned by your physical beauty…stunned. Then getting to know you in class; the daily lessons you shared, your incredible knowledge of the body and it’s processes, your warm healing hands, and of course, your guidance on the mat – your energy and the light that you shine forth made me realize that you are waaaaay more than just a beautiful woman. You have it all, sister!

    Oh, and anyone that has to tell everyone how hot they are and then shamefully degrade other people…NOT HOT!

    • WOW, Elizabeth, I think YOU are truly the Yoga Superhero. You make everyone around you feel so good! Your energy and enthusiasm is so wonderful, and everyone here at YO miss you… Thank you for such a kind comment. You are awesome, sister. And totally missed. Have fun on your journey!
      One day we have to get everyone together for a Yoga Superhero party. heehee!!

  20. People are so negative and petty. I just stumbled onto your blog while looking for Pepper and you look like you have an amazing soul, inside a beautiful body! Girls that would think like that anon did don’t hold a candle to you. Keep being you! πŸ™‚

    • Hey thanks Sandra! Sorry for such a late reply, been so busy! Thank you for your sweet words. People will always have their own agenda, it’s important to not let them get us down, right? There is so much LOVE in the world for us to focus on! Glad you found the blog. XO

  21. Sandra, wait til you meet her in person! She is a living doll. Not sure where you live but if you’re ever in the San Diego area, you should catch one of her yoga classes. My life became so much better since I walked through Yoga Oceanside’s door and was blessed to meet Melanie and Kaleo and Danielle and the whole YO crew. Can’t wait for our paths to cross again Mel!! Big hugs!

  22. Not gonna lie, I’ve been snooping on your blog because I really admire your lifestyle. I finally had the pleasure of meeting Kaleo last night and it’s pretty obvious that he would never even think about anyone else. He gives off that “i’m in love” vibe that I know so well from my boyfriend of 5 years, (while Bret was standing there giving off the completely opposite vibe haha). I know you don’t need to be reassured; it was just a happy observation I made. You’re both so lucky to have each other. My bf and I have been talking about it and we have this plan to get in shape so we can be a super attractive couple like you guys πŸ™‚

    • Hi Amanda! Sorry for the late response, I’ve been away from the blog for awhile! Thanks for the sweet words, you are very kind. I remember you two from the racetrack show. It was a little hectic for a few minutes there when we were trying to get back to the grassy area, but we had a fun time! Nice to meet you. I’m excited to check out your blog. xo

  23. Hello!
    You don’t know me, but I saw you at the Pepper concert last night and was telling my friend how absolutely gorgeous you were. I looked you up and stumbled on your blog and it seems you are just as beautiful on the inside as the out. Continue doing what your doing!

    • Hey! I just returned from the East coast and got your awesome message. Thanks for the sweet words. Did we get a chance to meet? Hope you enjoyed the show as much as I did. πŸ™‚ Let me know if you get your blog up and running.
      Peace,
      Mel

Leave a Reply

