“Do everything with so much love in your heart that you would never want to do it any other way.” ~Yogi Desa

B e l i e v e     i n      Y o u r s e l f

How many times have we all heard this? So many that when you hear it, you just kind of nod your head and say, Yeah totally! Go Me! With a little fist pump, but then forget about it and go about your day? Yep, I’m as guilty as the next person. However- let’s take a moment to drink it in…

Believe in yourself.

As humans, we tend to be our own biggest obstacles. Why is it that we always seem to get in our own way? Maybe we are afraid of success, afraid of change, afraid of getting out of our comfort zone. I lived that way for years with my previous career. And the crazy thing was, I’m married to someone who has followed his dreams since he was a child, determined to make it or starve. One would think that with his influence, and his complete support for me to do any little thing my heart desired, I would have left my toxic work environment long before I did. Wait, hold up. I didn’t even leave my job, I was laid off because of “cutbacks”! So in a way, I was forced to believe in myself and I can honestly tell you, I will not live my life any other way. It was the best thing that could have happened to me. The Universe had much more confidence in my dreams than I did at that point, but now I’m a believer.
In myself, ha.  🙂

Since my emancipation from The Job, I have found my Dharma and started teaching yoga full time, then opened a yoga studio so that I could teach and do yoga in my ideal space, and hire teachers that I want to take classes from. My goal is to help others find peace, inspiration, happiness and love, and empower them to see what is so beautiful about themselves… And then of course still have the free time to travel with Kaleo. I’m living MY dream, and it happened because I got out of my own way and started to believe in myself.
Why, you might be asking, am I talking about this today? For a couple of reasons, actually.

First, one of my dearest friends is going through a transition with her job. Without mentioning names or companies (ooh I could really talk some shit right now! But I’m taking the high road…), she has given her time, her heart, and her soul for this low-paying position. For people who expect too much and respect too little. And I want her to believe in herself and feel empowered to be strong and find something new. You deserve so much more, Love. They are not worth it and your health IS. I love you.

Secondly, Whitney just finished her Yoga Teacher Training! Congratulations sweetie, I am so excited about your upcoming class at Yoga Oceanside. If anyone out there wants to come take Whit’s first studio class it is on Friday, October 8th at 10:30am. I encourage you to go for it! Teach all the yoga you can and enjoy every minute of it… The world will be a better place with you as a teacher. 🙂

Anyone have stories about following dreams? Eden, I know you do. You made Girls Gone Global happen. You are an amazing inspiration! Let’s all make the choice today to believe in ourselves, step out of our own way, and be an inspiration to others.
A world of opportunity awaits you, my friend.
Enjoy this beautiful day!

~Melanie

15 thoughts on ““Do everything with so much love in your heart that you would never want to do it any other way.” ~Yogi Desa

  1. This post has hit a nerve. I want to break down & cry in my office at this very minute because I can so relate to working in a business that I have very little passion for. Afraid to completely change the direction I am going. And knowing in my heart I’m not where I should be. The fear of failure, not finding my niche, suffering financial hardship,… oh so many scary things in a big big world.

    Your blog gives hope. Makes me for a moment see how another life lives & that you know what this life goes through. Maybe one day I too can be free.

    • Oh, Stranger, I’m so sorry you are going through it today. I know the feeling, I was brought to tears and was even nauseous from stress at my old job. Just know that you deserve to be happy and in a place that makes you feel good about the time you spend there. It is scary to think about what’s on ‘the other side’ of the current job, but taking a chance, a big step, will put things into motion. Believe in yourself. Take some deep breaths. Tomorrow is another day. Maybe go home and make a list of things that you are grateful for. It always puts me in a nicer place… ~M

      • Sorry to be Debbie Downer yesterday & probably taking your post into a different direction than you intended. I think the combination of the heat, work stress, & the empathy I feel for your friend got to me. All the things you described her going through, I have been down that road. (Shit, I’m still on the same highway!)

        But there are many beautiful things in the world that I appreciate & am grateful to have and in hindsight being a hot mess one day can be the object of hilarious laughter in the future.

        I remember being at a job that I whole heartedly invested my time & effort. Only to end it with an explosive expletetive tirade with my boss. I felt empowered at the time but as soon as I turned the corner I started crying that ugly cry when you start hyperventilating. My friend gave me tissues which were no match for my tears & snot. In one swooping hyperventilating breath I inhaled the disinegrated tissue. My friend had to do the hemlich on me & then we collasped in laughter. One of our most cherished memories.

      • No apologies necessary! It’s always a great step forward in our personal evolution when we can laugh at or look back fondly at an experience that initially made us uncomfortable. Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. Well first I am a HUGE Pepper fan which is how I came across your blog! And after reading it – such an inspiration, I’ve been following. But now I’m wondering if I was meant to come across this b/c this job post really hits home (& “stranger’s” response mirrors my thoughts exactly) – I’m hoping to make the changes I need to fulfill my dreams and inner happiness. Amazing words – kind heart you have.

    • Hi Erica! First of all, thank you. I’m glad that you enjoy my crazy ramblings. Second, I’m so glad to hear that you want to make some changes in order to feel happy and fulfilled. No one should ever take that power away from you, whether it be an employer, partner, family member, etc. As my post said, ‘A world of opportunity awaits you my friend!’
      Maybe we will run into each other at a show someday. 🙂

  3. I too, am also a huge pepper fan like erica and stumbled across this blog… thank you so much for this, you have helped me see that there are better things in life, better ways to live.. and i am starting my journey towards true happiness.. right now actually 🙂

    Alittle history, a few years back when I was in college, I met my “dream” man, but of course the dream wasn’t a reality at all and it turned into an emotionally abusive, toxic relationship where I completely lost myself. I left school for him- dropped everything for him.. and the relationship still ended horribly just a few months ago (I don’t blame him for everything though, I know it was ultimately me who made the poor decisions). The job that I have now is very similar to the infamous job you escaped from- I do not have my degree so the income is low and the job is a nightmare. I am living with my mom to help support her financially since she had to declare bankrupcy after my father’s death a few years back.

    needless to say, life is hard. but I realized that there is alot of good that came out of this mess… I am starting to find my positivity and inner self back, and re-enrolled in school-it’s not bad to graduate when you are 28 right? I traveled the country for 4 summers when I was younger (03, 04, 05, 06) and have reconnected with several people I had left behind from that experience because the jerk ex actually somehow manipulated me to believe that those people and experiences were not important (so disappointed in myself for that).. and I even signed up for a yoga class for next semester, but I don’t think I can wait so I may just sit in a few classes at a studio!

    My only question is, did you ever feel disappointed in yourself (before your beautiful life you live now, of course) back when you worked at The Job, etc… and how did you move past that to start to have the courage to move forward to find true happiness? Like I said, I believe I am finally emerging from under that dark cloud that I was hidden under for years, but now I feel like the only thing really holding me back from a different path is me-go figure.

    Thank you again for such a positive and uplifting blog. I really apprecaite your message and the support you provide to help people realize that there is hope and a better life.

  4. and you’ve struck a nerve with me too. 🙂 i’ve read this post a few times because i love it so much. i, too, am a pepper-turned-melanie fan. you are really an inspiration. hope i run into you at the SD show on the 19th. i’d love to chat about how i’m leaving my toxic work environment and hitting the road with my husband for a year and half to travel places we’ve always dreamed about. cheers!

    • Hi! I love the blog! I’m super excited to go on these travels with you through your eyes. I’m adding your blog to my blogroll and will be checking it out all the time when your gone. It was so nice to meet you ladies at Stingaree. You all were so sweet and lovely, and it was great to put faces with the sweet comments…
      I absolutely love that you are starting this adventure with your man. This is the shit I live for! So inspiring! Keep in touch, and I will email you soon about the GGG blog.

      • melanie!! i feel compelled to share my good news with you. i was laid off today!! and i am thanking whoever is looking out for me up there, because it would have taken me so much longer to do this on my own. of course, i am a bit nervous, but mostly i feel relieved, hopeful, and happy. i can’t wait to see what the universe has planned for me. maybe the travelling will start a little earlier than planned? and i hope you know that your posts have influenced me to be positive about this. feel free to email me if you want to chat. i’ve got some time on my hands. 🙂 XOXO

      • OH MY GOSH SIMI! I can’t believe I am only getting this now! That is fantastic news! The world is your canvas, how exciting to be able to start creating… I will be following your blog to keep updated. Woo-hoo!

Leave a Reply

