Bueller? … Bueller?

Ok, so I gave in. You know how I am usually all, “Me? nope, I’m not going to get sick. I’m never sick. It’s just an allergy this morning. No, I am going to WILL it away…” ?  Well, I woke up this morning and decided that I am going to just let it run its course for the day. Go ahead, cold, have your fun and be on your way. I’m not afraid. After being in the ‘corporate world’ (ok, sure it WAS the action sports industry, but still), for over 7 years, it feels really good to be able to have the luxury of just being sick. Maybe that came out wrong. What I mean is that I don’t think I ever called in sick. Ever. Seriously, folks. I would just power through because no one else was going to do my job, and I would be terribly behind, and shit would just not be ok if I didn’t go into the office, and blah, blah blah. So I would never admit when I needed to actually give in to my exhausted self and take a moment to get better.

Where am I going with this? Well yesterday I felt like I was coming down with something and I began doing the usual denial, power of positive thinking, law of attraction, whatever you want to call it. Cut to: this morning I wake up with a runny nose and felt like someone was sitting on my chest and I had swallowed an entire box of sparkly yellow Peeps. Oh how I loathe those little squishy bundles of chemically puffed yuck. Just FYI. My point is that my throat hurt really bad. Anyway, I get dressed and Kaleo and I go out on a delightful breakfast date where he proceeds to win with his order. Of course it’s not really a competition. Oh who am I trying to fool, it totally is. And he always wins! Argghhhh. At least he always lets me eat off his plate, so it’s all good. When we came back home I started to feel like I was losing my mental battle with this cold. I decided right then and there, that I could actually allow myself to just go with it. Kaleo would be leaving for the recording studio in about an hour, I could just catch up on some computer work in the comfort of my bed, and maybe even just sit out on the deck and get some much needed sunshine while drinking a ton of water and loading myself up with Wellness Formula and Vitamin C. Hmmm… It kind of sounds like a nice, relaxing time. So I changed my entire outlook from fight, fight, fight. To oh yeah, this is going to be awesome. Of course first I went into Kaleo’s studio here at home and crawled upon his lap with puppydog eyes that said, I’m sick… hug me. I had my lower lip out and everything. And yes, his hug made everything alllll better.

For the remainder of the day I did some work, napped, ate a small lunch with more Wellness Formula, napped, and took a bath. I felt like I was on a vacation! With the exception being that I felt like shit. But my day was so nice, and I felt like I was giving myself exactly what it was asking for. Why have I not thought of this sooner?? I mean, when I was a kid I saw Ferris Bueller’s Day Off and thought it was so cool. All the preparations he did in order to play hooky! ( I have never even typed that word out in my life, is that weird? Is it correct?) I think once in like the 6th grade I thought I could pull it off and held the thermometer to a lamp for a few minutes to heat it up and started coughing and making my voice all raspy and hoarse (you ALL know what I’m talking about, don’t even try to deny it). I went to tell my mom that I was sick and she looked at the thermometer (which I couldn’t read for the life of me) and her eyes got huugge. Then she looked at me and said, this is wrong, let me wash it again and re-do it. Not even questioning why I had the thermometer in my room in the first place since she always did it for me. I got all scared and almost peed my purple leggings something fierce when she said that I was totally normal. I mean, 98.6 normal. Not even a little off. Damn. My face was all red and flushed from trying to pull off the lie and she touched my cheeks with the back of her hands (I always loved that) and kissed my forehead and said, “Well you do look pretty flushed. Do you want to stay home from school?” Awwww bless her heart, she was worried about me! It worked! Whew. Eat that, Ferris! So in true Melanie fashion, I…. (drum roll please)… chickened out. I did. Yep, I know. Bring it, Kaleo, I know you are laughing at me. Just bring it. I said to my sweet mom (with a total pouty look and the best raspy sick voice EVER), “No, that’s ok. I have too much schoolwork to do.”. Ugh! I am such a loser!

Sooooo anyway. Back to my current situation. I’m thinking that I am enjoying this luxurious sick day because I was too lame to pull it off as a kid, and too responsible and productive to pull it off in my last career. Now I own my own business and I can decide what’s best for me. And you know what? I am actually feeling better as my day goes on. I think I just needed to pause for a little while and let nature run it’s course. And of course the 5 ga-zillion milligrams of vitamin C didn’t hurt either. Thanks for listening. Oh and Mom… sorry. 😉

~Melanie

One thought on “Bueller? … Bueller?

Leave a Reply

