“Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes your smile can be the source of your joy.” ~Thich Nhat Hanh

I often invite my students to smile during a class. Physiologically speaking, by clenching your teeth and tightening your jaw, your body is sending your sympathetic nervous system a message: “All is not well, we are in fight or flight mode.” Subsequently, your breath will shorten or perhaps you will hold your breath without realizing it, your blood pressure will rise, and your heart rate will quicken. All of this sends distress signals throughout your system. Not a good way to plug through a yoga class. Or any daily activity, for that matter. But with the simple act of a smile you can release the tension in your jaw. Thus relaxing your teeth and allowing the parasympathetic nervous system to take over and balance your body. You will remember to exhale, and amazingly a sense of calm will return like a wave. It’s an amazing way to release tension. But a smile does so much more. I’m sure most of you have heard the tip: “Smile whenever you answer the phone.” It sends a message of receptivity and joy, even if you are not feeling very receptive or joyful at the time. The smile also has the power to turn someones day around. Just one smile! I always try to remember to be nice to people because you never know what is going on in their life or even just at that moment. We always hear people say, ‘Well there’s always someone worse off than I am.’. Ugh, really?? Even though it is probably true, that saying really bugs me. It’s like saying ‘My life sucks, but at least I’m comforted that someone else is suffering more than I am.’… Why not agree that we are all connected, and even if you have nothing to physically give to another human, at least you can offer a kind smile. 🙂

A few things that make me smile:

🙂 Going to the local farmers market with Kaleo and filling our basket with organic fruits and veggies.

🙂 Coming home from the yoga studio and finding out that Kaleo has just gone to the farmers market and brought me some beautiful flowers and homemade fudge!

🙂 My friends. I have AMAZING friends who are not only ridiculously gorgeous, but also have the most incredible hearts and minds. They are so supportive, loving, hilarious, kind, unique and successful, each in their own way. I love you all.

🙂 My family who has always been there for me, no matter what crazy phase I was going through. They have always been a source of encouragement, support and constant love.

🙂 Laughing with my husband so hard until I have no idea if I am laughing at myself or not. Even typing that made me crack up. You might not get it completely, but he certainly will.

🙂 Clean, soft, matching socks.

🙂 Tank tops with scarves. So I am still warm, but with no constricting arm-things.

🙂 Silly picture texting with Kaleo. I mean, like trying to write an entire paragraph using just the Emoji app on iPhone. It’s hil-a-rious. Oh, and with Eden too for that matter! Wait, did you mean to say Rainbow Happy Poop?! What is a Rainbow Happy Poop??

🙂 Knowing that Kaleo is coming home soon, whether it be from tour or the studio. I get giddy like a schoolgirl. Everything in the house has to be just right and dinner has to be planned. It’s so fun.

🙂 Swiffer-ing. I am obsessed with it. Now that we have hardwood floors I am constantly doing it. They now have all these other Swiffer-thingys that do much more like spray and mop, but I am a purist. Just the O.G. Swiffer for me thank you very much.

🙂 A hot bath with dead sea salts. My new fave. I’m surprised I am not a constant prune with all of the baths I’ve been taking since we moved into the new house. I will come home from the studio at noon and take a bath if I want to. So there.

🙂 Writing about things that make me happy make me even more happy. It’s all about gratitude. I’m so grateful for my life, which just opens the Universe to the Law of Abundance. More happiness, more smiles, and yes, even more clean, soft, matching socks.

What makes YOU happy?

~ Melanie

3 thoughts on ““Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes your smile can be the source of your joy.” ~Thich Nhat Hanh

  1. The Swiffer can be obsessive. When we first moved in I was swiffering all the time.

    Right now, what makes me happy, is thinking about spring and having cocktails on the patio =)

  2. Oh you know I love me some happy rainbow poop..we need an emoji for the swiffer- definitely. No swiffer = sad poo no rainbow. Maybe fire instead. Love you Melalicious.

  3. Being able to play soccer on saturday for the first time in year + since I had knee surgery…and an even bigger smile knowing tomorrow is my first night back to YOGA!!!!

Leave a Reply

