Time keeps on slippin, slippin, slippin… into the future…

OMG! Is it really February 18th?!? And did I really just type OMG…? Yeah well, this blog calls for it because I just realized that I haven’t written anything since January 14th! Wow. Well, hmm, where do I begin. See, that is the problem here. It’s like when you put off cleaning out your closet or going through your receipts. Finally, when I do sit down to blog, there is just SO much more to write about that it gets overwhelming. Here we go:

We moved into our new place! It is really nice and just 4 blocks from the beach. Yes, the beach that we have’t been to yet since we are both so busy. But we DO get to hear the waves at night when we are in bed with the windows open, so cool! And we are right by the train station and train tracks, which we actually LOVE. However, it is loud occasionally. I am beginning to think that the trains that go by have a secret code of honks that we don’t know about. They are all quite similar, but slightly different, and I am somewhat obsessed with decoding the train horn sounds. Crazy? Maybe. But those of you who have ever lived by a train station have got to know what I mean, right?! Come on, make me feel better, I’m beginning to feel like a lunatic. It’s been hard to leave our house that we were in for 10 years… But more on that and sweet Annie later. She deserves her own blog.

I love my job. Wait, this is better: I LOVE MY JOB! I can’t even consider it a ‘job’. I love owning a yoga studio, I love teaching yoga, I love everything about what I do! I cannot complain about one single aspect of my professional life! How cool is that?!?! The studio is just gorgeous,I’m so blessed to be in it everyday; our students are lovely, energetic, peaceful yogis; my teachers are dedicated, highly trained, professional, funny, and just incredible humans, all of them. My partner, Danielle, is not only my very first mentor, but a great friend, a beautiful person, a professional, and yep, another incredible human, who happens to have a great husband who Kaleo hangs out with. I have so many events coming up ….. Pre-Natal yoga, Anatomy in Asana, Tim Miller workshop, an entire weekend of Yin yoga with Paul Grilley (!!!) and so many more. Yay for learning!!

I’m in love. Like, truly, madly, crazily in love. I mean, I have been for this entire time… But it happens over and over every day. It’s a pretty cool feeling to be best friends with your husband after 9 years. Such a powerful feeling, such a great friend. When I think of him it’s like when you are walking on the sand in your bathing suit on your way to jump in the ocean in Hawaii on a super hot muggy day. Basically, it’s the best feeling, ever. Kaleo, I want to laugh with you until my tummy hurts… forever.

Ok, well THAT was mushy. I will leave you all with a couple of random facts.

1. Every time you lick a stamp, you’re consuming 1/10 of a calorie.

2. If a statue in the park of a person on a horse has both front legs in the air, the person died in battle; if the horse has one front leg in the air, the person died as a result of wounds received in battle; if the horse has all four legs on the ground, the person died of natural causes. (note: if the rider’s head is up the horse’s rear, the rider died a politician.)

3.  A duck’s quack doesn’t echo, and no one knows why.

4.   111,111,111 x 111,111,111=12,345,678,987,654,321

Until next time…

4 thoughts on “Time keeps on slippin, slippin, slippin… into the future…

  1. May be one of my most favorite songs of all times and not just because its about rainbows..but because its IZ singing it.. RIP IZ.. many many rainbows for him now!

  2. I’m having so much fun reading your blogs, Melanie! Staying up until the wee hours of the morn saying “ok, one more” then another 30 minutes, an hour goes by and I’m still here getting a glimpse into the incredible life that you and Kaleo have carved out for yourselves through hard work and perseverence. But I had to respond to this one because when we lived there, we were right next to the tracks by Bucc Park and at first, oh man, the rumble and loud clanking cars of the late night freight trains was terrifying to someone jolted out of a deep slumber…took some getting used to but then I rather enjoyed it and actually miss it! No trains at all here in South Lake. Happy to have had it there in Oceanside. Thought you might like this: (you’re not crazy). http://www.mytrain.com/trainschedule.html

Leave a Reply

