Wild Thing… I Think I Love you.

I wrote awhile back about how truly excited I was that Spike Jonze was making a non-animated movie of the most awesome children’s book of all time. Welllll folks, it’s out in 12 days! The movie looks FABULOUS, and we all know that I am going to be a babbling cry-baby because I have a feeling that there will be some sad elements to it. Just a hunch. But sad to me and sad to the rest of the world is not always linear. Ask my husband. I don’t know how many times he’s had to fight back a little laugh when he sees my lower lip start to quiver because I see a sad fish in a tank or something. But he is always there with open arms no matter how silly I am.  Awwwwww. But anyway- This book seriously spans like 30-40 years of bedtime story hour. Even little ones today know this book, it’s timeless. Am I the only one who wanted my bedroom painted as a forest so I could imagine my Wild Thing friends coming to get me  for an adventure or an exploration when the lights went out?? I think not. However, I knew a girl when I was a kid who actually DID have a forest mural painted in her room. I think her name was Jennifer Williams? Mom, you can probably remember more than me. Anyway, she had this awesome mural that spanned three walls of her room, stretching allll the way up to the ceiling and when the lights went out there were sparkles or glowy-things that were supposed to look like eyes from the forest peering at you through the trees. Well…even though I considered myself a big girl, I got super duper scared and freaked myself out and her mom had to come in, and so we slept with the lights on!! Ahhh! I was so horribly embarrassed, because I had to be about 9 and probably totally thinking I was this like, cool 4th grader or something… But NOW?? Oh man, I would be so psyched if I was a kid with a forest mural now. Hmm. No, that’s not true, I still occasionally check my closet for monsters and once in a while run from the light switch to leap onto my bed juusst in case there’s something lurking under there hoping to catch my foot. Secret’s out. Whatever, we’re all friends, right? And it never happens when Kaleo is home because DUH, monsters only want to get me when I’m alone and my big, bad husband can’t fight them off. *sigh*        Oh! My! Gosh! I almost forgot! I came across the most amazing thing EVER.

1-wtwta

HOW UNBELIEVABLE ARE THESE??? They are just like the ones that little Max wears in the book and now the movie only way cooler because they’re my size! And I want them!! I know you are supposed to be all sexy or whatever for Halloween, but come on! These are the BUSINESS! I would so totally rock these on Halloween. However, I would probably pass out from heat stroke or something, and I would look just a WEE bit silly next to all the sexy pirates, sexy doctors, and sexy teachers. Oooh! I could be a sexy Wild Thing! I just need to wear stripper shoes and a red bra under the fur with the zipper zipped half way down. Hahahahahahahahahaa…….. I am SO kidding.  It has buttons, not zippers silly goose. But really. I would absolutely wear these on Halloween if I was going to maybe Sweden or Canada, somewhere cold. Nope, I will be on a cruise ship heading back from Mexico. Not ideal furry costume weather. But I will wear them in the comfort of my own home, watching movies with Kaleo, who will also be wearing them, he just doesn’t know it yet. Ok, I’m all talk because guar-an-teed he is going to read this blog and call me going: ‘Um, love? You know that I will never wear that thing with the ears, right? Like, seriously. Never.’ Oh but a girl can dream…

2 thoughts on “Wild Thing… I Think I Love you.

  1. Mel, I LOVE the wolf suit…..we should all get one, drink some wine, head to the beach , and let the wild rumpus start ….LOL, love that book

Leave a Reply

