Where the Wild Things Are

Where the Wild Things Are

Where the Wild Things Are

     I have the absolute greatest memories of my childhood. In fact, if you know me, chances are you have heard me start a sentence with: “Once, when I was little….”
One such memory is going on ‘adventures’ and ‘explorations’ with my brother and sister all over the land behind our house. We came up with the coolest stories about all the treasures we found. It’s funny how when you are young, anything you find is a Treasure, with a story. But as we grow up, we label it Junk. Anyway, one time we even found an old one-room broken down shack that had stacks of books in it. Really gross piles of it, like a harvest for spiders and such. But of course we never thought of that at the time. These books were so fascinating to me because they were all in Japanese. So the writing was down the page instead of across the page. We had no idea what they said, there were no pictures, but I thought the writing was so pretty.
First-We would set out and find a stick. This was the important part. The stick was to help you hike and explore, but most importantly, to ward off the scary creatures we were sure to find. Like the neighbor’s dog. Behind our house was a macadamia nut farm, and to the sides were coffee lands. So there was a lot of exploring to do. We would always find sea shells in the dirt, and since we were about 3000 feet above sea level, this always baffled us. We came up with the idea that a Huuuuge tidal wave washed up over the land and left them there for many many years, and we just happen to find them because we were such great adventurers. I think years later I found out that Opihi shells are used as mulch for the macadamia trees. But isn’t my story so much cooler??
So- one of my absolute favorite books when I was a kid was Where the Wild Things Are. I’m sure most of you know it, it spans generations. I am so happy to announce that Spike Jonz is making a movie adaptation! The link above is to the trailer, and it is SO good. It is not embedded, so just click twice to be taken to youtube. It is exactly how I felt as a kid and went on my adventures! It seriously made me feel 8 again…

Leave a Reply

