New beginnings…

I guess you can say that I have become accustomed to this new life. Not that I wasn’t kicking and screaming in the very beginning. Figuratively, anyway. Life at the office day in, day out; working at night; commuting two hours a day; vacationing with my nose in my Blackberry… Looking back it sounds just awful, doesn’t it? These days my life is much more- well, in a word- Simple. And I am loving every simple minute of it. I have time. Time! To just sit and reflect. And with this time, I want to find ways to become a better person. Not just for myself, or my husband, but for the Earth itself. It’s amazing what you can do when you Pause and Appreciate. 

Being laid off has been such an amazing experience. Of course I went through the Hurt Ego Phase, the What will I do? Phase, and the Holy Shit, it’s 9am and I’m not at the office! Phase. But with the amazing support of my wiser-beyond-his-years husband, I have finally realized that this has been the best thing that could have happened to me. I am Happy. For years I was at my job, going through the motions and battling stress. And not even realizing that it wasn’t healthy. It was just ‘normal’. Following my dreams and doing something that I loved, that I’m passionate about..? Well Melanie, that is just not realistic now is it? My mind would say. Well as I have now learned first hand, the Universe knows more than I do. I would have never left my job, I’m not a quitter. But losing my job has opened up a whole new world for me. One where I can actually follow my dreams and make the world a better place. 

And my life with my husband has entered an entirely new phase as well. I am Present. I don’t mean that I am home more. I mean that I am not always standing in our relationship with one foot in work and the other at home. And it feels incredible. We have had the most fun just being together, laughing, talking, cleaning, cooking, traveling, whatever it is we are doing, it’s just that much better! I should have learned from him years ago. Being a musician he has always chased his dream. And he has made himself successful by not settling for anything less. Now it’s my turn. And I am so ready…

3 thoughts on “New beginnings…

  1. I’m so inspired by you.

    I will admit I stumbled upon your page while being nosy about your husband, though I’m not some Pepper-nut groupie. Actually, I was introduced to their music by my fiance. While I love their new stuff (and have grown to love their old stuff) I found myself needing to justify my new-found appreciation of some of their music because I’m a conservative bank manager whose playlist is [was] typically dominated by Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood. I wondered how these guys could be married with some of the lyrics they sing or their behaviors during shows. You’ve completely humbled my perception being as sweet and peaceful as you are and expressing the values shared between you and your husband.

    I found myself reading through all your blogs and finally coming to this one. I had no idea you went through this re-adjustment from corporate life to entrepreneur. I went through a very similar re-adjustment experience earlier this year. I endured the death of my father, the realization that my significant other of seven years was cheating on me, and was then relieved of my responsibilities to another company for which I worked five very long, very stressful but what I thought were very normal years. It wasn’t easy at first but as time passed I realized my life was so much better and I never would have found such happiness if I didn’t have to endure some of life’s toughest challenges when I had.

    I started running. Something I never in my life ever thought I could do. I did. I stopped living for my bank account balance and started seeking quality in my life. I started laughing more. I stopped worrying about what other people thought of me, although I still sometimes question myself. It doesn’t happen overnight, right? I started dating the guy who must have asked me out dozens of times over the years, while I was with my ex and waiting for a proposal, and realized my soul mate was right in front of me all that time. I started blogging right when life started throwing me lemons because I, too, wanted to inspire people and make the world a better place. I wanted people to know that enduring some of life’s greatest challenges can lead to life’s greatest joys. I wanted people to feel my happiness and my peace just the way I have felt it through your words.

    Thank you, Melanie, for your inspiration. And thank your husband, too. If I wasn’t being nosy about him and his band – I never would have been so blessed to discover “Living Aloha.”

    • Hi Sarah! Wow, thank you for your amazing words. What a journey you have had! It’s all so familiar, and I am so happy you have found your way to the other side. The side where you are happy, empowered, and free! Congratulations on everything you are doing, it sounds like you are creating the life of your dreams. I am very excited to follow your blog and be able to tag along on your adventure, in a way. Thank you for finding living aloha in a round-about way, and reaching out to say hi. Maybe I will se you and your fiance at a Pepper show one day. 🙂

  2. Melanie, I know this is an extremely old post, but I have to thank you so much!! I’ve read your blog from time to time and you’ve really helped me through some difficult times. I have finally found my footing and started a yoga practice- im even looking into teaching yoga now too. I am enrolling in a local studio’s yogic study program to get down to the nifty gritty of it all, I can’t wait 🙂 anyways.. I have some huge decisions to make at hand and I literally found myself saying “I don’t know what to do, I know what I WANT to do, but that’s not realistic”.. after I said it, I was like.. whoa, wait a minute. I think I’ve heard this before. I had to come back to this post and read it. I cannot thank you enough for the wisdom and encouragement within these pages. Sorry this is so long winded, but thank you again!!

Leave a Reply

