A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, always with the same person. ~Mignon McLaughlin

Happy Anniversary my Love! I still get giddy when I think about you. I still laugh constantly when we are together. I still look forward to waking up with you everyday. It’s been nine beautiful years of marriage, and even more of just being in love. I remember the moment I fell in love with you, hard, and I never looked back.
Remember that couple we met on Friday, who have been married 70 years? She spilled her red wine all over and he was cracking jokes… That is so us in 60 years.
So us now, actually. ;)

Our wedding was many years ago… The celebration continues to this day.

Love you forever…

M

20 thoughts on “A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, always with the same person. ~Mignon McLaughlin

  1. Mel, That post just made me smile!!!! I got the chills too. You guys have such an amazing amount of love for each other. I look up to your marriage.. I hope I find someone that I can fall in love with everyday for years and years.. and never look back. Thank you for being in my life and showing me what true love is all about. Happy Anniversary to the two of you! Drink some wine, have an amazing dinner & more :) Love you.
    xoxoxo to everlasting love. . .

  2. Just left you two lovelies a voicemail. :) Love you both so much. Happy 9 year anniversary!! Not that you need a reason to celebrate your love..because with you two its always celebrated..and cherished..and magical..and yummy and all good things!! So happy to of gotten to spend all that time together with you two loves this past weekend.. I needed it. See you in a few days and CONGRATULATIONS!! 9 down…only a whole lifetime to go! <3 Your love inspires me you crazies. hehehehe

    • I’m so happy I got to see you too! Impromptu and perfect. Thank you for such sweet words about our marriage, you always have the coolest things to say. :)
      We are looking forward to so many more years of Us. Whatever that means! Always trying to grow and evolve and learn from each other. I’m a very lucky girl.
      I’m excited I get to see you so soon again before you leave for your never-ending trip across Europe. xoxo

  3. Congratulations! I am so happy for you two. I can’t believe it has already been nine years (though sometimes it feels like a whole lifetime ago) since you got married. What a lovely wedding it was. You looked so gorgeous… one would never guess that you got dressed and did your make-up behind a truck on the beach after swimming all day! So cool.

    Here’s to a lifetime left to come of love and happiness. Cheers!

    ~Kaia

    • Thank you Kaia! It was so great having you there to share the special day. It’s so fun to look back at how it all came together that day. So easy, no stress… We both are missing home a lot lately, and can’t wait to be back at the end of summer. Much love to you and your little girl. xoxo

      • I know you always have so much to do and so many people to connect with when you are here, but if you have the time, I’d love to see you guys this summer. xo!

        (kaia.anderson@yahoo.com)

      • We would love to get together with you when we are home! It’s a little different this time since we will be taking two trips back to back, so we will be a little more relaxed with time. See you in a few months!

  4. Hi Melanie! Thanks for the inspiration! Today is our 13 year anniversary and I love your positive outlook!

    love & light, Parvati

  5. It’s been a bit of a while since we last saw each other, but I knew……………….the first time I met the both of you……………..that you were absolutely perfect for each other. I could always feel the tremendous connections between the two of you! You guys were made exactly for each other. And I do have to admit,……….Kaleo is the luckiest man alive! Karma is real!! And Melanie, you are getting in life, what you deserve…………the most perfect happiness I have ever experienced 2 human beings to have with each other!

    I mean that from the bottom of my heart! The energy flows so bright and clear when the 2 of you are in the same room together. I feel lucky for being able to have shared some spectacular moments with you. Your soul emits so much love, happiness, genuine integrity and loyalty, you draw everyone in by your kindness and beauty….iside and out! I am so happy for what you have acheived in life, Sweet Melanie! Hopefully one day we can catch up……….

    Thank you for setting such a life-changing example to everyone, whom crosses your path!

    ~Jamie Jones~ (p.s. shoot me an email sometime)

  6. I am very touched of this post. I mean, me and my husband are married for 2 years, and we’re going through tough times every now and then. The quote you gave inspired me greatly to be a better wife and lover, especially as his best friend. I pray more loving years for you and for your husband. Kudos to you both! ♥

    • Hi Ahya, thanks for your comment! I’m so happy to hear that you are inspired, it’s a really important part of a successful relationship, I think. I will be checking out your blog as well to see how things are going! xoxo

    • Hi Kat!!
      Wow, it has taken me THIS long to read these comments, I apologize. So nice to meet you in Austin last month! You are such a sweet, happy person, which is a breath of fresh air on the road. Thank you for introducing yourself that night. It made my night. We might be coming back to Austin for a quick visit just on our own, I will let you know… :)

Leave a Reply

